Mongolia’s New Government December 2014 – News

January 22nd, 2015 by

A report by Alan Sanders for MIASU 18.12.14

Formation of Mongolia’s new coalition government December 2014

Mongolian President Elbegdorj’s 2014 drive for ‘smart government’ coincided with a long-running political argument in the Mongolian Great Khural (national assembly) whether members of the cabinet should also be members of parlIament, the so-called davkhar deel issue.

The government of Prime Minister Altankhuyag, which came to power in 2012, decided in October 2014 to cut the number of ministries by merging several of them, for example the Ministry of Economic Development with the Ministry of Finance. Seven ministers resigned, including Foreign Minister Bold, and the ruling Democratic Party (DP) and Justice coalition set about the nomination of new ministers. DP chairman Altankhuyag signed a long-term cooperation agreement with the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP), whose chairman, ex-president Enkhbayar, suspended his hospital treatment in Seoul to attend the signing ceremony in Ulan Bator.

However, on 5 November the Great Khural dismissed Prime Minister Altankhuyag, who resigned his chairmanship of the DP, and Speaker Enkhbold was chosen to replace him as DP leader. Contrary to the former practice of selecting the chairman of the majority party, on 21 November the Great Khural appointed as the Prime Minister Saikhanbileg, the Cabinet Secretary in the previous government. The opposition Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) initially declared that it would not cooperate with the DP in coalition with the MPRP, but changed its mind when the DP decided to consult all parliamentary parties about forming a new coalition. The result was an agreement by these parties to allocate ministers to a new set of ministries in proportion to the number of seats each party holds in the Great Khural: DP 10 posts, MPP 6, Justice 3 (MPRP 2, MNDP 1). The selection process was complicated by efforts to reduce the number of Great Khural members appointed to ministerial posts, acquiring a davkhar deel. The process of appointing the ministers began in the Great Khural on 5 December and was completed on 9 December. Ten of the 19 are Great Khural members, two are women.

Prime Minister: Chimediin Saikhanbileg, DP, MP

Deputy Prime Minister: Ukhnaagiin Khürelsükh, MPP (ex-General Secretary MPP)

Head, Cabinet Secretariat (Minister): Sangajavyn Bayartsogt, DP, MP (ex-Deputy Speaker)

Ministers – General Ministries:

Environment, Green Development and Tourism: Dulamsürengiin Oyuunkhorol, MPP, MP (f)

Finance: Jargaltulgyn Erdenebat, MPP, MP (chairman, budgetary control sub-committee)

Foreign Affairs: Lündegiin Pürevsüren, DP (former presidential foreign affairs aide)

Justice: Dambyn Dorligjav, DP (former Procurator General)

Ministers – Sectoral Ministries:

Construction and Urban Development: Damdiny Tsogtbaatar, MPP (ex-Secretary MPP)

Defence: Tserendashiin Tsolmon, Justice/MPRP, MP

Education, Culture and Science: Luvsannyamyn Gantömör, DP, MP

Food and Agriculture: Radnaagiin Burmaa, DP, MP (f)

Health and Sport: Gankhuyagiin Shiilegdamba, Justice/MPRP (General Secretary MPRP)

Industry: Dondogdorjiin Erdenebat, DP, MP

Labour: Sodnomyn Chinzorig, MPP (former MP)

Mining: Rentsendoogiin Jigjid, DP (former State Secretary in Mining Ministry)

Population Development and Social Welfare: Sodnomzunduin Erdene, DP, MP

Power: Dashzevegiin Zorigt, DP, MP

Roads and Transport: Namkhain Tömörkhüü, MPP (member Leadership Council MPP)

Minister without portfolio: Mendsaikhany Enkhsaikhan, Justice/MNDP (former Prime Minister)

Warning: Use of undefined constant is_single - assumed 'is_single' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/innerasi/public_html/wp-content/themes/MIASU Theme v3/comments.php on line 33