Previous Seminars

The Mond Building Seminar Room, Free School Lane, Cambridge, CB2 3RF


Tuesday 14th October

Maria Lundberg and Yong Zhou
Norwegian Centre for Human Rights

Rights of Peoples and Minorities in Development in China

Tuesday 28 October

Jim Canary
University of Indiana

Exploring the Tibetan Book: Meeting the Makers

Tuesday 11 November

Viesturs Celmins
University of Cambridge

Allegiance and eligibility: The State and Islam in the Kul Shariff Mosque, Tatarstan

Tuesday 25 November

William Tuladhar-Douglas
University of Aberdeen

Theory, Anthropology, and Buddhist Books

Tuesday 20 January

Hurelbaatar Ujeed

Inner Mongolia Normal University

Transforming and Traditionalising: Modernisation of the Old Barga People

Tuesday 3 February

Rebekah Plueckhahn

University College London

Performing Value, Forming Resources:

Morality, Musical Performance and Social Continuation in Mongolia

Tuesday 17 February

Françoise Robin

INALCO (National Institute of Oriental Languages and Civilisations)

From Lyricism to Sarcasm: Settling Literary Accounts with Settlements in Tibet Today

Tuesday 3 March

Susanne Weigelin-Schwiedrzik

University of Vienna

Central and Local Governments in the Border Regions of the PRC:

Public Health in Xinyuan Country of the Yili Autonomous Prefecture

Tuesday 28 April

Bumochir Dulam

National University of Mongolia

The Tragedy of ‘Environmental Pastoralism’ in Building Mongolian Identity

Tuesday 12 May

Lauren Bonilla

University College London

Extractive Atmospheres:

Mining, Territory, and the Politics of Dust in the Gobi Desert

Tuesday 26 May

Heidi Fjeld

University of Oslo

The Rise of the Polyandrous House:

Reform and Relatedness in a Central Tibetan Village

Tuesday 9 June

Olga Shaglanova

Ethnographic Museum of Transbaikal Peoples, Buryatia, Russia

Chinese Labour Migrants in Buryatia: Between Illegality and Legality

MIASU Seminars 2013-14
Miasu Seminars 2012-13